Elena’s Substack
Elena Meets the Author
Elena meets Ann Leary
0:00
-38:04

Elena meets Ann Leary

An Interview with Anne Leary: Writing, Humor, and Life Lessons

In this episode Elena meets Ann Leary, the New York Times bestselling author of four novels and a memoir. One of her novels The Good House was made into a film with Sigourney Weaver and Kevin Kline. An article Ann wrote for the NY Times Modern Love column called Rallying to Keep the Game Alive  was adapted for Prime Video’s Modern Love TV seriesfeaturing Tina Fey and John Slattery. A longer version of that essay titled Love Means Nothing  (in Tennis) appears in Ann’s latest book, I’ve Tried Being Nice, an anthology of essays about Ann’s life and the things that matter to her. Ann is married to stand-up comedian and actor Denis Leary.  After reading I’ve Tried Being Nice in two days, I think Ann might be just as funny as her husband. In this episode we talk about tennis- how it can both help and hinder your marriage, how having hobbies can help you write, and the unexpected joys of empty nesting.

00:00 Introduction to Anne Leary

00:47 Reading from 'I've Tried Being Nice'

08:39 Humor and Family Dynamics

10:00 Tennis and Relationships

12:55 Writing Journey and Inspirations

15:14 Meeting Dennis Leary

21:25 Hobbies and Their Impact on Writing

22:19 Discovering New Hobbies

24:39 The Joys of an Empty Nest

27:20 Thoughts on Chat GPT

29:25 Advice to My Younger Self

31:19 Narrating My Own Book

32:34 Role Models and Staying Active

34:44 Future Writing Projects

Discussion about this podcast

Elena’s Substack
Elena Meets the Author
Every month I interview authors whose books I’ve liked and found compelling. I want to know more. Join me as I ask all the questions I am dying to know: some serious, others not.